Task Force Committee

Jennifer Foster

Jennifer Foster

Jennifer Foster, professor in the Faculty of Environmental Studies and chair of the new Task Force on Sustainability Research, has announced the members of the new task force. The committee, chaired by Foster, is comprised of individuals from the University and community who will advise the vice-president research & innovation and the chair throughout the consultation process.

“I am pleased to announce the members of the new Task Force on Sustainability Research,” said Foster. “I am looking forward to working together with the members of the committee and the University community to help continue to build the recognition of the University as a Canadian leader in sustainability research.”

The mandate of the Task Force on Sustainability Research is to provide feedback and recommendations to help strengthen and advance the concentration of sustainability research at York; provide strategic advice that represents broader community interests and becomes a conduit for action within the community; and provide feedback and recommendations through a final report that will be released to the York community to stimulate engagement and action.

The committee members include:

  • Teresa Abbruzzese, sessional assistant professor, Department of Social Science, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies;
  • Steve Alsop, professor, Faculty of Education;
  • Chris Ardern, assistant professor, School of Kinesiology and Health Science, Faculty of Health;
  • Rick Bello, environmental science coordinator and associate professor, Department of Geography, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies;
  • Chris Bentley, PhD candidate, Faculty of Education;
  • Ian Garrett, assistant professor, Department of Theatre, Faculty of Fine Arts;
  • Sushanta Mitra, chair and professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Lassonde School of Engineering;
  • Carla Lipsig-Mummé, professor, Department of Social Science, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies;
  • Catriona Sandilands, professor, Faculty of Environmental Studies;
  • Chandra Sharma, watershed specialist and senior manager, Climate Programs, Toronto and Region Conservation; and
  • Sapna Sharma, assistant professor, Department of Biology, Faculty of Science.